Full Leisurely We Glide


Sultry afternoons. The air hangs like a heavy syrup, a slow-dripping sap, from which we feel we won't escape. The long days, the heat, the humidity, all these things suspend us in the time-stretched haze we call summer.

Bluebird skies and lemony blooms draw my eyes skyward as I walk. I make my way through the honeyed atmosphere more slowly, out of necessity and also out of respect for this season. I do not adore it as so many do, and yet these moments hold me in their sway.

Arriving at a favorite overlook, I find familiar flora transformed by the heat and the light.

Turning a corner, this sight ensnared me for several minutes. The color and the light and the shade. Only summer holds sway here.

I wend my way along toward home again, and the flowers seem to smile and say, We hold winter's rain and spring's promise in every spectrum, and you are welcome here as well.

Leave a Reply

